11U and 12U Firecrackers win Inaugural Maine Amateur Basketball Association State Championships

 Firecrackers_Team_II_Mar_11Front Row: Molly Chapin, Lydia Henderson, Tracey Townsend

Middle Row: Emily Esposito, Moira Train, Lauren Chadwick, Brooke Malone

Back Row: Coach Joe Aube, KaTasia Titherington, Lish Aube, Adelaide Cooke, Alaina Birkel, Coach Heather Hart


It was the first playing of the Maine Amateur Basketball Association State Championships, and the two Firecracker teams entered in the tournament both won their respective divisions. In 11U, Coach Hart’s team won 62-18 in the final against Maine Hoops, and in 12U Coach Seavey’s team also won comfortably against the YES (Dawson) team, 46-16.

Here are the full results for the weekend:-

Firecrackers Ingegneri 5th/6th

Won vs MB Nation 11U 24-22 OT

Lost vs MB Nation 12U 13-36

Firecrackers Hart 11U

Won vs Maine Hoops 11U 52-21

Won vs Maine Hoops 12U 55-18

Won vs Lewiston-Auburn 11U 68-15

Won vs Maine Hoops 11U (Final) 62-18

Firecrackers Seavey 12U

Won vs YES 12U 65-15

Won vs Maine Hoops 12U 47-28

Won vs YES Dawson 12U 46-16

Firecrackers Clement 13U

Won vs Nokomis Warriors 14U 46-42

Lost vs Icebreakers 15U 54-28

Firecrackers Briggs 14U

Won vs Mid-Coast Warrior 17U 64-46

Lost vs MB Nations 17U 55-50

Firecrackers_Seavey_U-12Front Row: Alexis Ewald, Kate Herzig, Juliauna Dunlop, Julia Brogan, Bethany Ashley, Annabelle Elvidge, Mary Farnkoff

Back Row: Coach Chris Mars, Margaret Hatch, Maddy Mullet, Jessica Willerson, Regan Mars, Caroline Denoia, Sadie Nelson, Coach Jim Seavey